3 Years / years old / years

Who turned the clock, is it really so late? Here comes the obligatory anniversary article.

Three years ago I started in Anchorage. I thought, I in 18-20 Months'm back home. I still remember, when I was in the Yukon at the British Columbia border Casey, a cyclist from Oregon, met the three years was traveling. At that time, not a long way, I could not imagine being on the road so long, I found somehow inclined. Now I'm even three years on the road, the nomadic life has become for me everyday.

Two years ago I went with Nathan (velo freedom) by Mexico. (He is the way, lost or. has temporarily / permanently stopped in Panama to cycle?) At that time I had my glasses laying around in the restaurant and we were interviewed by a local television station.

Last year I was in Colombia in Cartagena and I celebrated the two-year-old in "Ciudad Movil".

For three days I am back in Colombia and now again in the beautiful Salento in the heart of the coffee zone. One the one hand feel good on the other hand also a bit frustrating, since most cyclists, I had last met are already in Peru. Well my priorities have shifted and apparently I was for a while in Galápagos, what have become the most begrudged. Perhaps it is also due to my hard racing saddle, that I have become less cycling days?

On Tuesday I left the Casa Helbling in Quito – one of the best hostels I have to say. It was hard for me, especially when everything then comes back worse. But if one wants to experience or achieve something, have to leave his comfort zone.

Three day bus ride and mass worst trash movies I have behind me. In the last bus, I saw the worst movie of my life, mutated giant crocodiles attack American college kids. What a shit!!!

On the first day I came to Las Lajas, a famous pilgrimage site in Colombia. Las Lajas is Ipiales just across the border, so to speak, and on the way. The impressive Neo-Gothic church built a rock wall and across a ravine surrounded by lush, built lovely landscape.

Santuario de las Lajas

Lajas Sanctuary

I spent the second night in Popayan. Since I only arrived at midnight and to 8 Clock in the morning again sat in the bus, I could not see much. But I'll stop there again.

On the third day bus ride I arrived pretty tired after another seven hour bus ride to the goal in Salento. I now have to drive for a while, no more bus to happiness. After I was not on the anniversary celebrations to mute. With Ilse and Martina, I had met on the bus, we were eating pizza and then drink a good coffee.

Now I'm back on my bike, what is now quite dusty and has been waiting for me for three months. Hier im „Plantation House“, was in addition to a lot of my stuff, good hands.

What's Next?

In a few days I want to sit back on the bike and get used again to the tour mode. I have quite missed the cycling.

There are still a few things to organize, before continuing. Among other things, I must make clear my bike, Write two articles and upload photos. Some of my stuff I left with Santiago at Casa de Ciclista in Tumbaco. So I have a few pounds less, at least until Tumbaco (beautiful Quito), to drag. And on my new frame bags I'm also looking forward. Of these, there are also photos.

My path leads me in the coming week south by Buga, Valle del Cauca on to Cali, City of pretty women and Salsa.

Von Cali es geht nach Popayan, the white city. From there the Cordillera Central to San Augustin and then Mocoa the border to Ecuador. Fortunately, it is Salento to Cali first time relatively flat, so that I can slowly bring me back into shape, before then it goes right back to business.

In Quito, I want me the way search for a job and stay for a while there, if it works. Patagonia is then end 2014 targeted, where there is summer then.

(However, information is subject to)

One thought on “3 Years / years old / years

  1. Hi Jens, how are you?, I think these super back to Colombia, disfruta San Agustin.
    I have some questions about lodgings in Pasto, Ipiales, Quito and Ecuador, go on vacation to these cities and would like to know if I can give details of the hostels you know allà.
    A big hug, Greetings John and Daniel.
    I await your response and photos of galapagos.
    Clelia

Comments are closed.

3 Jahre / años / years

Wer hat an der Uhr gedreht, ist es wirklich schon so spät? Hier kommt der obligatorische Jubiläumsartikel.

Vor drei Jahren bin ich in Anchorage gestartet. Gedacht habe ich, dass ich in 18-20 Monaten wieder zu Hause bin. Ich weiß noch genau, als ich im Yukon an der Grenze zu British Columbia Casey, einen Radfahrer aus Oregon, traf der drei Jahre unterwegs war. Damals noch nicht lange unterwegs, konnte ich mir gar nicht vorstellen so lange unterwegs zu sein, fand ich irgendwie schräg. Nun bin ich selbst seit drei Jahren unterwegs, das Nomadenleben ist für mich Alltag geworden.

Vor zwei Jahren fuhr ich mit Nathan (velofreedom) durch Mexico. (Er ist übrigens verschollen bzw. hat vorübergehend/dauerhaft in Panama aufgehört zu radeln?) Damals hatte ich meine Brille im Restaurant liegenlassen und wir wurden von einem lokalen Fernsehsender interviewt.

Letztes Jahr war ich in Kolumbien und habe in Cartagena das 2-jährige im „Ciudad Movil“ gefeiert.

Seit drei Tagen bin ich zurück in Kolumbien und heute wieder im schönen Salento im Herzen der Kaffeezone. Ein einerseits gutes Gefühl andererseits auch etwas frustrierend, da die meisten Radfahrer, die ich zuletzt getroffen hatte schon in Peru sind. Nun ja meine Prioritäten haben sich anscheinend verschoben und ich war ja auch eine Weile in Galápagos, was sich die meisten nicht gegönnt haben. Vielleicht liegt es aber auch an meinem harten Rennsattel, dass ich immer weniger Radfahrtage habe?

Am Dienstag verließ ich das Casa Helbling in Quito – eines der besten Hostels muss ich sagen. Es fiel mir schwer, vor allem wenn alles was danach kommt wieder schlechter ist. Aber wenn man was erleben oder erreichen will, muss man seine Komfortzone verlassen.

Drei Tage Busfahrt und massenhaft übelste Trash-Filme habe ich hinter mir. Im letzten Bus sah ich den schlechtesten Film meines Lebens, mutierte Riesenkrokodile attackieren amerikanische College-Kids. Was ein Scheiß!!!

Am ersten Tag bin ich bis Las Lajas gekommen, einem bekannten Wallfahrtsort in Kolumbien. Las Lajas liegt bei Ipiales kurz hinter der Grenze und sozusagen auf dem Weg. Die beeindruckende neogotische Kirche integriert eine Felswand und ist über eine Schlucht inmitten einer üppigen, reizenden Landschaft gebaut.

Santuario de las Lajas

Santuario de las Lajas

Die zweite Nacht habe ich in Popayan verbracht. Da ich erst um Mitternacht ankam und um 8 Uhr morgens schon wieder im Bus saß, konnte ich nicht viel sehen. Dort komme ich aber nochmal vorbei.

Am dritten Tag Busfahrt bin ich dann nach weiteren sieben Stunden Busfahrt ziemlich platt am Ziel in Salento angekommen. Zum Glück muss ich jetzt für eine Weile keinen Bus mehr fahren. Nach Feiern war mir am Jubiläumstag nicht zu Mute. Mit Ilse und Martina, die ich im Bus kennen gelernt hatte, waren wir Pizza essen und anschließend einen guten Kaffee trinken.

Jetzt bin ich endlich wieder bei meinem Rad, was nun ziemlich eingestaubt ist und über drei Monate auf mich gewartet hat. Hier im „Plantation House“, war es nebst einem Großteil meiner Sachen, gut aufgehoben.

Wie geht es weiter?

In ein paar Tagen möchte ich wieder auf dem Rad sitzen und mich wieder an den Tourenmodus gewöhnen. Ich habe das Radfahren ziemlich vermisst.

Ein paar Dinge gibt es noch zu organisieren, bevor es weitergeht. Unter anderem muss ich mein Rad klar machen, zwei Artikel schreiben und die Fotos hochladen. Einen Teil meiner Sachen habe ich bei Santiago im Casa de Ciclista in Tumbaco gelassen. Ich habe also ein paar Kilo weniger, zumindest bis Tumbaco (bei Quito), zu schleppen. Und auf meine neuen Rahmentaschen bin ich auch gespannt. Davon gibt es auch noch Fotos.

Mein Weg führt mich in der kommenden Woche südlich durch das Valle de Cauca über Buga nach Cali, Stadt der hübschen Frauen und des Salsa.

Von Cali geht es nach Popayan, der weißen Stadt. Von dort wieder über die Zentralkordillere nach San Augustin und dann über Mocoa zur Grenze nach Ecuador. Zum Glück ist es von Salento bis Cali erst mal relativ flach, so dass ich mich langsam wieder in Form bringen kann, bevor es dann wieder richtig zur Sache geht.

In Quito möchte ich mir übrigens eine Arbeit suchen und ein Weilchen dort bleiben, wenn es klappt. Patagonien ist dann Ende 2014 angepeilt, wo dort dann Sommer ist.

(Angaben sind jedoch ohne Gewähr)

Ein Gedanke zu “3 Jahre / años / years

  1. Hola Jens, còmo estas?, me parece sùper que estes de regreso a Colombia, disfruta San Agustìn.
    Tengo algunas preguntas sobre hospedajes en Pasto, Ipiales, Quito y Ecuador, vamos de vacaciones a esas ciudades y quisiera saber si me puedes dar los datos de los hostales que conoces allà.
    Un abrazo fuerte, saludos de Juan y Daniel.
    Espero tu respuesta y fotos de galapagos.
    Clelia

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.