About Jenson

Currently cycling the Americas

Semana Santa

Our last week in Popayán

Last week ended the Semana Santa, the most important festival for most people in Latin America and in Popayán. As of miracle hand all construction sites have disappeared, mended the many holes in the streets, many buildings were whitewashed new white. It seems Popayán lives for this one event only, and then sinks back into irrelevance. I was glad to be able to witness this important festival yet.

Semana-Santa-001

The already here seems pretty mellow and has already the correct clerical habit it

We come!

We have the visa, the flights are booked. Continue reading

Residues Part1

Aside

…there is 100 new images under images / Colombia bottom (Pop-San Augustin und Mocoa-Pasto) or directly here. Including the infamous of the trampoline de la muerte:

Mocoa-Pasto

63 Photos

Enjoy – difrutalo – enjoy

Coming (leaving) home

Last week we were in Bogota and had an appointment at the German Embassy. Aura and I have decided to go to Germany, therefore we have a visa for her requested, I hope they will arrive soon. Planned the trip is the beginning of May, however, we must wait to book the flight on the visa.

Huckepack

in Bogotá

My tour is now first definitely to an end. I look forward to Germany, but also know now that I will miss Colombia. Not everything Allerding, the honking motorists, the bad and narrow sidewalks with many holes, the clouds of exhaust, the alarm systems, constantly go, the very high noise background are some things, that I can not get used to. I am also pleased to be able to go out again at any time day or night, without me to wonder whether I might fall over or in what district I better not go.

The largest of Colombia - in addition to the spectacular, diverse landscape – is the friendliness of the met me and the impartiality of the people with whom I was taken here as a foreigner.

I hope, that aura in Germany also goes so - we'll see. Ach ja, we bring even a small cyclists(rin) with ;-)

In this sense - nos vemos pronto (we'll see you soon)

Jens

Trampoline of Death – a Christmas trip

After nine fairly crisp days on the bike I'm on 24 evening arrived quite exhausted again in Popayán. I have brought intense experiences – Encounters with friendly, helpful Colombians, a few days at the limit and some photos.

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas

San Augustin

Aside

I spent mostly on the bike my birthday. Arrived in the dark in San Augustin and met there aura and Nathan. Thank you for the congratulations. Tomorrow we will continue towards Mocoa and then we hit the trampoline de la Muerte. After Christmas, then there's a summary from Popayan or the afterlife ;-)

Sail-Revival

Parque Caldas

Parque Caldas-one of the most beautiful corners in Popayán – without traffic

Popayán is a construction site for months.
For weeks is Calle 5 blocked and all traffic torments himself on back roads through the center. Not only that brings the bad air and dust with it, the average car / bus driver (could it be my brain amputated) is very impatient and begins after a short time to honk. Whether he does it just to pass the time, the horn checked or thinks it helps what, I can not say. In between still push yourself some mopeds and of course horns also. It starts in the morning and goes most of the day so. Continue reading

Finally Colombians – Another journey begins

By bus to Ecuador, Visit to the Consul, a nasty surprise in Tumbaco

After an intense period of job search in Popayán and Abklärens the formalities for my work visa, we drove Thursdays (my manager and I) Pasto over the border to Ecuador. Nach ca. eight hours miserable bus ride we reached Ipiales, the city, which lies directly on the border with Ecuador. Friday we wanted to eat across the border to Ecuador, to visit the Colombian Consulate in Tulcan. Tulcan is the counterpart to Ipiales - a rather unattractive border town on Ecuadorian soil, However, there is a great cemetery. Continue reading

Über jenson

Currently cycling the Americas

Semana Santa

Unsere letzte Woche in Popayán

Letzte Woche endete die Semana Santa, das wichtigste Fest für die meisten Menschen in Lateinamerika und in Popayán. Wie von Wunderhand sind alle Baustellen verschwunden, die vielen Löcher in den Straßen geflickt, viele Gebäude neu weiß getüncht worden. Es scheint Popayán lebt nur für dieses eine Ereignis und versinkt danach wieder in der Bedeutungslosigkeit. Ich war froh dieses wichtige Fest noch miterleben zu können.

Semana-Santa-001

Der hier wirkt schon ziemlich abgeklärt und hat schon den richtigen klerikalen Habitus drauf

Wir kommen!

Wir haben das Visum, die Flüge sind gebucht. Weiterlesen

Rückstände Teil1

Kurzmitteilung

…es gibt über 100 neue Bilder unter Bilder /Colombia ganz unten (Pop-San Augustin und  Mocoa-Pasto) oder direkt hier. Darunter auch die von dem berüchtigte Trampolin de la muerte:

Mocoa-Pasto

63 Fotos

Viel Spaß – difrutalo – enjoy

Coming (leaving) home

Letzte Woche waren wir in Bogotá und hatten einen Termin bei der deutschen Botschaft. Aura und ich haben beschlossen nach Deutschland zu gehen, deshalb haben wir ein Visum für sie beantragt, was hoffentlich bald eintreffen wird. Geplant ist die Reise Anfang Mai, wir müssen allerdings mit der Buchung des Flugs auf das Visum warten.

Huckepack

in Bogotá

Meine Tour ist jetzt erstmal definitiv zu Ende. Ich freue mich auf Deutschland, weiß aber auch jetzt schon dass ich Kolumbien vermissen werde. Nicht alles allerding, die hupenden Autofahrer, die schlechten und engen Bürgersteige mit den vielen Löchern, die Abgaswolken, die Alarmanlagen, die ständig losgehen, die sehr hohe Lärmkulisse sind einige Dinge, an die ich mich nicht gewöhnen kann. Auch freue ich mich wieder zu jeder Tag und Nachtzeit rausgehen zu können, ohne mir Gedanken zu machen ob ich vielleicht überfallen werde oder in welchen Stadtteil ich besser nicht gehe.

Das größte an Kolumbien – neben der spektakulären, vielfältigen Landschaft – ist die Freundlichkeit die mir begegnet ist und die Unbefangenheit der Menschen mit der ich hier als Ausländer aufgenommen wurde.

Ich hoffe, dass es Aura in Deutschland auch so geht – wir werden  sehen. Ach ja, wir bringen noch einen kleinen Radfahrer(rin) mit ;-)

In diesem Sinne – nos vemos pronto (wir sehen uns bald)

Jens

Trampolin de la Muerte – ein Weihnachtstrip

Nach neun ziemlich knackigen Tagen auf dem Rad bin ich am 24 abends ziemlich erschöpft wieder in Popayán angekommen. Mitgebracht habe ich intensive Erlebnisse – Begegnungen mit freundlichen, hilfsbereiten Kolumbianern, einige Tage am Limit und etliche Fotos.

Frohe Weihnachten

Feliz Navidad

Merry Christmas

San Augustin

Kurzmitteilung

Meinen Geburtstag habe ich überwiegend auf dem Rad verbracht. Bin im Dunkeln in San Augustin angekommen und habe dort Aura und Nathan getroffen. Vielen Dank für die Glückwünsche. Morgen geht es in Richtung Mocoa weiter und dann treffen wir auf den Trampolin de la Muerte. Nach Weihnachten gibts dann eine Zusammenfassung aus Popayan oder dem Jenseits ;-)

Velo-Revival

Parque Caldas

Parque Caldas -eine der schönen Ecken in Popayán – ohne Verkehr

Popayán ist seit Monaten eine Baustelle.
Seit Wochen ist die Calle 5 gesperrt und der ganze Verkehr quält sich auf Nebenstraßen durch das Zentrum. Nicht nur das das schlechte Luft und Staub mit sich bringt, der durchschnittliche Auto/Busfahrer (man könnte meinen er sei gehirnamputiert) ist sehr ungeduldig und fängt nach kurzer Zeit an zu hupen. Ob er es nur zum Zeitvertreib tut, die Hupe prüft oder denkt es hilft was, kann ich nicht sagen. Zwischendrin schieben sich noch etliche Mopeds und hupen natürlich auch. Das fängt morgens an und geht fast den ganzen Tag so. Weiterlesen

Endlich Kolumbianer – Eine andere Reise beginnt

Mit dem Bus nach Ecuador, Besuch beim Konsul, eine böse Überraschung in Tumbaco

Nach einer intensiven Zeit der Arbeitssuche in Popayán und des Abklärens der Formalien für mein Arbeitsvisum fuhren wir Donnerstags (meine Managerin und ich) über Pasto an die Grenze nach Ecuador. Nach ca. acht Stunden elender Busfahrt erreichten wir Ipiales, die Stadt, welche direkt an der Grenze zu Ecuador liegt. Freitags wollten wir früh über die Grenze nach Ecuador, um in Tulcan das kolumbianische Konsulat zu besuchen. Tulcan ist das Gegenstück zu Ipiales – ein ziemlich unattraktiver Grenzort auf ecuadorianischem Boden, allerdings gibt es dort einen tollen Friedhof. Weiterlesen

Die weisse Stadt

1.10.13 – Mir gehts immer noch gut in Popayan, der Artikel ist immer noch nicht fertig. Es gibt demnächst einige Neuigkeiten ;-)
image