Finally Colombians – Another journey begins

By bus to Ecuador, Visit to the Consul, a nasty surprise in Tumbaco

After an intense period of job search in Popayán and Abklärens the formalities for my work visa, we drove Thursdays (my manager and I) Pasto over the border to Ecuador. Nach ca. eight hours miserable bus ride we reached Ipiales, the city, which lies directly on the border with Ecuador. Friday we wanted to eat across the border to Ecuador, to visit the Colombian Consulate in Tulcan. Tulcan is the counterpart to Ipiales - a rather unattractive border town on Ecuadorian soil, However, there is a great cemetery. Continue reading

Two new kids on the blog

A guest post by Sylvie and Sara (uncensored!!!)

After two impressive days in Bogota, we are on time landed in Quito. The best luggage "Western - Bicycle Equipment, thes Jens and two other cyclists had ordered diligently before our departure. Thanks to Sylvie's neighbors, who had taken in a week seven against packet. The joy was great, meet again after so long.

First, we assumed, Jens that would take us to a hostel in Quito, but surprisingly Jens quartered us in a room at the Casa de Ciclista in Tumbaco, a suburb of Quito, a. The Casa de Ciclista, Santiago and his wife. Continue reading

Endlich Kolumbianer – Eine andere Reise beginnt

Mit dem Bus nach Ecuador, Besuch beim Konsul, eine böse Überraschung in Tumbaco

Nach einer intensiven Zeit der Arbeitssuche in Popayán und des Abklärens der Formalien für mein Arbeitsvisum fuhren wir Donnerstags (meine Managerin und ich) über Pasto an die Grenze nach Ecuador. Nach ca. acht Stunden elender Busfahrt erreichten wir Ipiales, die Stadt, welche direkt an der Grenze zu Ecuador liegt. Freitags wollten wir früh über die Grenze nach Ecuador, um in Tulcan das kolumbianische Konsulat zu besuchen. Tulcan ist das Gegenstück zu Ipiales – ein ziemlich unattraktiver Grenzort auf ecuadorianischem Boden, allerdings gibt es dort einen tollen Friedhof. Weiterlesen

Two new kids on the blog

Ein Gastbeitrag von Sylvie und Sara (unzensiert!!!)

Nach zwei eindrucksvollen Tagen in Bogota sind wir pünktlich in Quito gelandet. Im Gepäck bestes „Western – Fahrradequipment, dass Jens und noch zwei weitere Radler vor unserer Abreise fleißig bestellt hatten. Danke an Sylvies Nachbarn, die in einer Woche sieben Päckchen entgegen genommen hatten. Die Freude war groß, uns nach so langer Zeit wiederzusehen.

Zunächst gingen wir davon aus, dass Jens uns in ein Hostal nach Quito bringen würde, aber Jens quartierte uns überraschenderweise in ein Zimmer im Casa de Ciclista in Tumbaco, einem Vorort von Quito ein. Das Casa de Ciclista gehört Santiago und seiner Frau. Weiterlesen